PDA

View Full Version : Popups and other problems


carerra
02-16-2010, 05:34 PM
I seem to be getting random popups on my websites (free account) and then sometimes appear as viruses when I get browser and anti-virus warnings. Is there a way of fixing this?

mafiaworld
02-16-2010, 07:38 PM
Maybe your scripts have viruses? Contact the maker to confirm if your scripts are properly coded.

carerra
02-16-2010, 08:14 PM
I haven't got any scripts. Just very basic html, css and some images I made myself.

Tyler
02-16-2010, 09:02 PM
There are a few reasons this could be happening:
1.) You have included coding in your web site that is pulling content from a 3rd party web site that could have a virus on it.
2.) You have a virus on your computer (or the one which you made the web site on) that put contaminated code on your files before you uploaded them.
3.) You anti-virus software is mis-reading popup ads as viruses, some anti-virus programs are poorly written and mis-read popups.

You didnt include a web site link with your post so I can't really tell you which one I think it is.

carerra
02-17-2010, 01:15 PM
It was when I loaded it up in Opera that I got a popup saying something about winning money.

http://visitscotland.ulmb.com/

But I haven't seen it in other browsers yet.

Tyler
02-17-2010, 03:56 PM
A popup about winning money is completely different then a virus.
You are hosted on our free hosting package which is ad-supported.

carerra
02-17-2010, 04:18 PM
Ok, thanks.

oaklandastronomy
08-02-2010, 06:32 PM
A popup about winning money is completely different then a virus.
You are hosted on our free hosting package which is ad-supported.

My visitors have recently reported popups which often get past their blockers and/or cause their firewalls or anti-virus shields to start squawking.

I found these lines inserted in my html source (NOT my code):

<body style="color: rgb(0, 0, 0);" alink="#ee0000"
link="#0000ee" vlink="#551a8b">
<!-- Begin Free Hosting Code Insert -->
<script type="text/javascript" src="/.system/insert.php"></script><!-- End Free Hosting Code Insert -->
&nbsp;

Can you tell me what this is and why it's in there?

Seems like a new event.....it wasn't happening before.

BILL

UnlimitedMB
08-02-2010, 06:58 PM
You can remove the ads by upgrading to any of our paid hosting packages.
There have been ads on free hosting here for many years, its nothing new.

oaklandastronomy
08-02-2010, 07:45 PM
You can remove the ads by upgrading to any of our paid hosting packages.
There have been ads on free hosting here for many years, its nothing new.

The popups ARE new for us. We never had them before. I have nothing against the ads on a "free" site host. That's OK.

Can I assure my readers that no malicious invasions are present in the popups?

Some strange observations too:

----The popups don't seem to appear on machines with Win2000 and IE7
----And they don't seem to appear on newer machines with Windows7
----Most visitors who complained are running WinXP and IE8.

My members and readers just want to be sure no viruses or invasive nasties are trying to infect their machines.

If I can tell them all's well, it's just ads, that would be reassuring.

Thanks,

BILL
OAC Webmaster

UnlimitedMB
08-02-2010, 07:51 PM
Well I use windows 7 and firefox and they appear for me.
The ads are enabled for all free hosting accounts and shown to everybody, theres no detection of browser or operating system.

They are just popup ads, nothing malicious.

oaklandastronomy
08-02-2010, 08:05 PM
Well I use windows 7 and firefox and they appear for me.
The ads are enabled for all free hosting accounts and shown to everybody, theres no detection of browser or operating system.

They are just popup ads, nothing malicious.

Thanks Eric -

Maybe it depends on the robustness of the popup blockers installed or 3rd party adware prevention software, I dunno. Just reporting what people tell me.

If it's just ads coming over, I will tell folks not to panic.

As a small non-profit club and educational organization, we really appreciate our ULMB free hosting !!

BILL
Oakland Astronomy Club

mixedbeats
08-09-2010, 09:28 AM
Upgrade its worth it.

oaklandastronomy
08-11-2010, 04:02 PM
I continue to receive messages from readers that they are receiving Trojans and other threats when the "ads" load. Here's one from yesterday:

I got this warning from avast! when the popup window was loading
(8/10/2010 5:15:18 PM Sign of "HTML:Framer-inf [Trj]" has been found in "http://i-look4.info/search.php?keywords=the%20rwanda%20genocide" file.)

Stuff like this is more than just annoying.....it's SCARING my readers away.

Does ULMB make any attempt to vette these ad sources before letting them in?

UnlimitedMB
08-11-2010, 04:07 PM
We don't control or check the ads, they are done by a 3rd party advertiser infinityads.com.
As I said before, if you don't like the ads you can upgrade to any of our paid packages.